Discuss Swords & Wizardry White Box - Rules questions, commentary, house rules
Sat Aug 04, 2018 12:35 pm
This is a newbie question, but I've always been confused about how spells worked in Swords & Wizardry Whitebox for both Clerics and Magic-Users. I couldn't seem to find an answer anywhere in the rules. I looked to the other Swords & Wizardry rules (core and complete) for answers, but I found their explanation to confusing to figure out.
Hope someone can help me out here!
Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:16 pm
Welcome to the forums! Both Magic-Users (MUs) and Clerics are limited in the number of spells they can cast per day by the charts in the character class section of the rules. So at 1st level, a MU can cast one 1st level spell per day, and a Cleric none (Clerics get their first 1st-level spell when they become 2nd level). Before a PC of either class can cast any spell they must memorize it, which takes a short time but is possible only after a night's rest. MUs memorize their spells for the day from spell books, Clerics pray for the spells they want to memorize for the day. It's up to the referee how many spells MUs start with in their books - a common house rule is that MUs start play with a spell book that has all 1st level spells, and can just pick which ones they want to memorize each day. Hope that helps!
Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:27 am
Yes, thank you, that does help. So basically the spells section in the classes counts for both how many spells you can memorize as well as the number of spells that you can cast in a day. And you can only cast that spell once. I hope I'm understanding it correctly!
Thank you again!
Gazòta Sà Zòba (Gazòta, the Warrior)
Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:58 pm
Yes, although a 2nd level MU could memorize two sleep spells for that day, there is no restriction on memorizing the same spell multiple times, as long as you have available 'slots' in your memory.
Mon Aug 06, 2018 1:47 am
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
phpBB Mobile / SEO by Artodia.