Magic Users and preparing spells

A forum for discussion of The Wanderer's White Box: Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
rpggamingstuff

Magic Users and preparing spells

Post by rpggamingstuff »

Hi all, new member, nice to meet you.

I'm new to OSR rpgs, but I've played other more recent ones.

Question about preparing spells, just wondering if I'm missing something.

On youtube and google searches people keep saying that a Magic User gets to cast one spell a day, but that's not how I'm reading it in the book for FMAG.

On the MU chart it just says 1 Spell at lvl 1(p.17), but doesn't say per day. And in the combat section it says that you can prepare a spell, cast it, then spend a round preparing another spell(p.35. You can even prepare a spell while in melee range(p.41). It doesn't even say that you have to use the same spell, just that it's one at a time.

Are the people saying you get to only cast one spell a day just defaulting to what they remember from another version of the game, or am I missing something?

I haven't looked it up in S&W to see what it says, I'll go look at it, just out of curiosity.

Thanks!

merias
Site Admin

Re: Magic Users and preparing spells

Post by merias »

Welcome to the forum! I'll have to check to be sure , but I seem to recall that the FMAG rules refer to spells per adventure. The per-adventure wording is in the 1974 original rules that FMAG is based on, although those original rules are also clear that a spell once cast cannot be cast again the same day. So yes, the intent is that MUs can cast a number of spells per day as noted in their spell chart, and that should definitely be more explicit if it is not stated in the FMAG rules.

merias
Site Admin

Post by merias »

Thanks for the great question, btw - I ended up going down a rabbit hole to research this :lol:. I found the reference to "adventure" - on page 45 of the FMAG rules (from the 2nd printing, which is the one available on DTRPG):